Drew Stafford vs. Duncan Keith’s Head

Was this a clean hit or deliberate cheap shot?  It’s pretty clear where the ‘Hawks stand on it.  What do you think?  You make the call.

 

This entry was posted in Game Recaps, Rumors and Happenings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Drew Stafford vs. Duncan Keith’s Head

  1. blackhawkbob says:

    Seeing it live, I thought it was a clean hit.

    After watching the above Zapruder film 29 times, though it may have been a “clean” hit, I think I’ve changed my mind. Stafford leads with his elbow, but more importantly, he seemed to have about a full second to line up Keith’s head, which he did with perfect precision.

    The NHL is supposedly attempting crack down on these kinds of hits, so perhaps we’ll see some league action. I doubt it, though.

  2. John says:

    Yeah from our seats it was hard to see Stafford come across. I thought the defenseman got a piece of Keith’s leg intially and then thought Keith banged his head on the D-man’s knee. Wrong on both counts. The more I watch it, the more I can understand why Ben Eager went Teen Wolf on Stafford.

  3. ChicagoKill says:

    I was at the game too and didn’t really see it as it happened – but watching it now I think you can clearly see Stafford’s elbow come up on Keith’s head. Even if it wasn’t an elbow he clearly hits Keith square in the head even though he had time to go for the body.

    Oddly, it was Stafford that initially went after Neil when he hit Drury on a similar hit…

  4. Eric says:

    The Keith hit from Stafford was cheap. It was frickin’ brutal. I knew instantly he was hurt and I was sitting a mile away at the other end in the 300 level. I was worried it was a shoulder or jaw, but I suppose a concussion would be just as bad, if not worse.

    And that crap that Stafford said about Keith having his head down doesn’t flow as truth if you watch the replay. Keith was taking a shot, it’s not like he was skating the puck into the zone. Stafford tried to claim Keith toe dragged into the zone and he hit him when his head was down. Seems to me Keith was already in the zone, in the slot, and looking to shoot when BAMN, stafford used his elbow and caught an unsuspecting Keith. I was so concerned I fumbled for my camera but only got a photo of Keith when he was back at the bench. I missed what happened at the other end, and only barely saw Eager go after Stafford.

  5. Eric says:

    Let me correct myself, it was more of a forearm than an elbow, but still you can see Keith didn’t see him coming as he was busy shooting the puck.

Leave a Reply

