Hossa, Kopecky Named to Slovakian Team; Canada Tomorrow

To the surprise of no one, Blackhawks Marian Hossa and Tomas Kopecky have been officially named to the Slovakian Olympic entry.

Many of our regular readers will know that my excitement for the upcoming Olympics is reaching unhealthy proportions.  (I haven’t eaten or slept since late last month, and I can’t stop shaking.  I also blacked out last week and came-to with a Team Finland tatoo on the small of my back.)

Aside from the incredibly high level of play we’ll bear witness to, the Olympic break will also allow us to see each player’s name written in his native language.  For example, Hossa has a ” ‘ ” above the second “a” in his first name.  Who knew?  Moreover, Kopecky’s full name is written with two ” ‘ ” and an upside down carrot above the “s” in his first name.  (I know; it’s probably not called an “upside down carrot.”)

As for the Hawks, their Olympic participant count has begun: 2. 

Tomorrow Stevie Y will name the Canadian team.  As many expect, it’s likely Duncan Keith and Jonathan Toews are locks.  All other things being equal, Brent Seabrook may get the nod as the sixth or seventh d-man, but I’m not extending my hunger strike on his account.

This entry was posted in Rumors and Happenings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hossa, Kopecky Named to Slovakian Team; Canada Tomorrow

  1. Dave Morris says:

    Call me a nit-picker, but I really don’t know why writers write ‘Slovakian’ when it’s ‘Slovak’…as in ‘the Slovak language’, ‘Slovak spelling’, ‘Slovak cuisine’.

    Slovaks are cool. Great country. Great people to work with and party with. Some seriously hot women.

    Pretty darn good hockey players too.

    Olympic dark horse? I hope so.

  2. John says:

    Dave, I take it you’re Slovakian…..er, Slovak.

  3. blackhawkbob says:

    Point taken, Dave. Everybody else was doing it…

  4. Dave Morris says:

    @John> no, I’m not Slovak, but I’ve known some smokin’ Slovak ladies…and they were linguistically-gifted.
    🙂

  5. Lou says:

    Dave, was that when you double dated with Mosienko????

  6. Dave Morris says:

    Lou> Bill really knew how to score…and he taught me a few moves.

    Stick around, kid.
    😉

Leave a Reply

