Coyotes 3, Blackhawks 2 (SOL)

Normally level-headed and objective (at least I think), I realized during yesterday’s second period that I’m quickly becoming Randy Quaid’s character in the Major League movies – ya know, angry, negative and hopeless about my team’s chances.

A few things got the better of me while watching the Hawks complete a 2-2-2 road trip yesterday night in Phoenix:

  • Just about every unsuccessful season in any league has a goat.  There’s little doubt that – if, in the end, this is deemed an unsuccessful season – Marian Hossa will the Hawks’ goat.  After he started off like a house on-fire, he’s seemingly had as many injuries or ailments as goals.  Watching he, Kopecky and Frolik flail about last night forced my hand; I DVR’d the third period in favor of a Season 2 Mad Men episode.  It calmed me down for a while.  Funny how 45 minutes of Don Draper’s adultery can soothe my nerves.
  • Is it possible to have defensive pairings made up of d-men who complement each other less?  Keith and Leddy?  Campbell and Hendry?  Seabrook and Hjalmarsson?  Things haven’t gone particularly well in the defensive zone this season, so something had to be done.  But, with a top-four that includes the Norris Trophy winner, a second Team Canada defenseman, one of the game’s premier offensive defensemen and a player who was signed to an offer sheet last off-season, it’s frustrating to have to watch Nick Leddy play over 20 minutes a night.
  • Jeff Taffe is 6’3″, and in his first action as a Chicago Blackhawk last night, one would think he would at least consider using his size.  Guess not.  He must enjoy bus rides.
  • These overtime/shootout points add up.  Patrick Kane’s overtime chance was out of character, as his shot went right into Bryzgalov’s body, and the Hawks went 1-for-5 in shootout chances on the weekend (with Sharp’s chance on Friday and Hossa’s opportunity on Saturday scored as “misses”).  Opponents were stopped only twice out of six times.

All things considered, though the Hawks needed more, this was a difficult end to a road trip.  Dallas and Phoenix are solid teams, and the Hawks played a strong third period when it mattered.  I guess that’s what we’re pinning our faith on: that the Hawks will pick up their game as the stakes get higher.  This week would be nice.

This entry was posted in 2010-2011 Recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Coyotes 3, Blackhawks 2 (SOL)

  1. Dale Halas says:

    Kane looked like he was going 5 hole (it was open) and the shot just rose on him.

    I will say the shootouts are the one place the Hawks miss Niemi. Neither of the Hawks current goalies are as good as him in these skills competitions…

  2. Patrick says:

    Hawks are going to go on an eleven game win streak. At least that’s what I keep telling myself…

  3. ArlingtonRob says:

    Frustrating trip overall. Had solid opportunities to win all 6, so 2-2-2 is disappointing. The negative trends seen all year were on display. Poor special teams (esp. PK) when needed the most, lousy period 3 play (excluding Phoenix), core players not producing when needed, and being physically beaten. I’m convinced that the team we saw in October is basically the team we’re witnessing today. I’m thinking about next year, and I hope Stan is too.

  4. Patrick says:

    AR – while I’m not ready to move on from this year yet (I think the Hawks will make the playoffs, they just won’t go very far), I am thinking about next year too. I’ll throw something out there – Sharp to Pit for Jordan Staal. I think this rumor was out on the webber-net earlier. Thoughts?

  5. alpo says:

    @Patrick, Pittsburgh can’t/won’t make that trade with Malkin and Crosby out.

  6. Patrick says:

    Alpo – not talking about this year for that deal, talking about over the summer. Other than adding a D-man, the Hawks can’t / won’t make any major moves at this year’s trading deadline.

  7. Bob in EP says:

    I was surprised/disappointed that Q chose Hossa as #3 in the shootout considering he is in too much pain to lift the puck. Sharp would have seemed the better choice.

  8. alpo says:

    @Patrick, I should’ve read your post more carefully as you noted that. If Frolik does anything the next couple weeks or Morin is ready next year I’d make that trade.

  9. SouthSideHawkMan says:

    I am starting to believe that this is not a playoff team! As unbelievable as that seemed to me when the season started. Talk about not maximizing your talent thats this years Hawks. Where is that 4 or 5 game winning streak we have all been waiting for???

  10. Cam says:

    Pretty sure Kane was at the end of a shift and had little left for the breakaway.

  11. Cam says:

    “Sharp would have seemed the better choice.”

    Sharp is something like 20% in shootouts for his career.

    Let’s face it, after the second period there are no good choices with this team.

  12. Marts says:

    Any thoughts on the Versteeg to Philly trade…? They’re building a pretty impressive squad over there.

  13. Marts says:

    …or on the Byfuglien $26 mil over 5 Years contract?

  14. SouthSideHawkMan says:

    Philly looks good out of the East. Thats a solid team. I am not sold on their goaltending though. Steeger gives them good experience they are deep!

  15. alpo says:

    I was hoping the Hawks could squeeze a Seabrook extension in between 5-5.5 million a year seeing that’s what Mike Green and Paul Martin signed for. But with Buff signing for 5.2, I think Seabrook’s camp is thinking at least 5.5 with 6 being more realistic. Oh well.

  16. dominator says:

    I’ve seen alot of people saying that and it doesn’t make sense to me. Seabrook can’t even score like Buff in his dreams, they really aren’t comparable.

  17. SouthSideHawkMan says:

    If Seabrook wants 6 I target Shea Weber instead. Seabrook is good but Shea is just a better defensemen

  18. feyer says:

    I see that Q is out tonight with an upper body injury

  19. SouthSideHawkMan says:

    Q being in the hospital is just another chapter in this hard luck season for the Hawks

  20. AC says:

    I can’t believe Buff got 5mil per year. He is a defensively challenged defenseman that is severely streaky. He has 3 points and is a -8 since the New Year in 17 games. I don’t get it. I know he was hot to start the year, but we have seen this with him before, he is extremely inconsistent. I like Weber and would have to believe that he will get more than Buff, since he brings more to the table. Seabs can’t score like Buff, but is better defensively, but probably merits around 4.5-5.5.

    The Versteeg move is really good for the Flyers. They didn’t give up anything and don’t have to rely on Steeg as a top line scorer (which he isn’t).

  21. Patrick says:

    AC – doesn’t surprise me at all – just like the Hawks a few years back, Atlanta has to overpay for anyone and everyone they could make into a marketable star and/or someone to build around. He had a hot start and they’re also paying for potential (doesn’t that sounds familiar?) – combine that and you’ve got $5.2MM per year. Good for him too…

Leave a Reply

