The Winter Classic: The Fan Perspective

The Blackhawks are not “back”; they’re “here.”  Get used to it.  Fifteen months ago, they were back.  Now, they’re just here.

Yesterday’s Winter Classic at Wrigley Field put the success story on the national stage – and a hockey rink on a baseball field.  And, as I’ll one day tell my grandchildren (or someone else’s grandchildren if I don’t have them), I was there.  So, while the Fifth Feather’s John recapped the hockey on this space yesterday, I’d like to summarize the spectacle – and let’s just say the event itself faired far better than the ‘Hawks did on the ice.

It started off poorly; there were plenty of ‘Wing fans on the el.  (For the record, yes, most were in camouflage body suits, and many had teeth that would make an Englishman blush.)  But, stepping out at the Addison CTA stop was truly an experience of a lifetime.  After scaffolding (due to construction on the stop) blocked my senses from the outside world for nearly 30 feet, a break in the overhead plywood revealed an absolutely incredible sight.  Wrigley Field – and no, just for the record, I’m not a Cub fan – was completely dressed for an NHL hockey game.  And, with the flags of NHL teams displayed on the roof and Winter Classic signage around the outside facade, it was beautiful.  It took a second to gather myself, but I did – just long enough to walk to a neighborhood bar.  After a couple quick spirits, the picture taking commenced.  (Perhaps I’ll post them in the next few days.)  I wanted to make sure (a) I’d remember the event, and (b) I had something to show other peoples’ grandchildren fourty years from now.  They all turned out reasonably well, but Wrigley’s famous red sign took the cake.  Flanked by Blackhawk and Red Wing flags, it was a reminder of how far the ‘Hawks have come in just over a year – from one of the worst franchises in professional sports to the national stage.

It was time to go in.  Even the inside of Wrigley had undergone a makeover: posters of NHLers, Blackhawks and Wings hung from the chimney with care concourse ceilings.  It was surreal to see a Dustin Byfuglien poster hanging from within Wrigley Field.  We made our way to the bleachers – Aisle 311 in right center field for those who would like to know – and our first view of the field was as incredible as the view from outside the ball field.  It took a second to sink in: there’s an ice rink in the center of Wrigley Field.  I’d seen it on television, but this was different.  And, as the wind rushed the bitter cold to my bare facial skin, we took our seats, and marveled at how respectable the view seemed.  (Let’s just say that was short lived.)

The two teams emerged from the clubhouses shortly thereafter, and we had our first glimpse of the boys on the ice.  Other than the hideous ‘Wings socks, it was an incredibly beautiful sight.  (Notice a trend here?)  But, we had our first realization of the afternoon: we’re not going to see much.  From the bleachers, the players might as well have been a mile away.  As someone who can identify different ‘Hawks just by seeing their skates (sad but true), I wasn’t even able to identify individual players.  Eh, no big deal.  That’s why we have DVR.  You just can’t Tivo live memories.

Next up were the national anthems.  Both were stirring.  The Canadian anthem was first up.  (It gets me every time.)  Then, our national anthem was both incredible and disappointing at the same time.  First, the many Detroit fans destroyed the ’91 All Star Game feel; about a quarter of the stadium’s fans stood quiet.  (Though this is normally the appropriate and patriotic plan of action during our nation’s song, it is absolutely inappropriate at ‘Hawk games, and it partially ruined the effect yesterday afternoon.)  But, those who did clap along with the on-field soldiers and fly-by crystallized the moment as one of the best of my life as a sports spectator.  There’s just something about the close roar of F-18 jets that says, ‘Man, are you lucky to be an American’ – and, in this instance, lucky to be at the Winter Classic.  I still have a goose bump on my right arm that has refused to go away.  Just before the game action began, those spectators not in the bleachers participated in a stadium-wide display Gene Honda (the public address announcer) called a stunt card display.  It went well until the folks in the lower bowl on the first base side realized side two of their cards spelled “Red Wings.”  In an awesome display, those fans started throwing their cards into the air.  It was a new take on the ol’ Chicago slogan: Detroit sucks.

The game action came and went – so I’m told.  Though the spectacle of the event was something to behold, I was just too darn far away to enjoy the game action.  The angle wasn’t very good either.  As we were only maybe twenty feet off the ground, we were unable to see about a fifth of the ice surface due to the near boards.  From the bleachers, we could follow the players, but we were almost completely unable to follow the puck.  That was all right, though.  The  celebrations following the first period tallies were worth it – even though I couldn’t necessarily see what we were cheering for.  Things (obviously) soured rather quickly, as the ‘Wings began – again – to exert their muscles, scoring five straight goals to overtake the (sort of) home ‘Hawks.  It was a bitter end to an otherwise memorable event.

We left our seats (OK, our spots on the bleacher benches) and walked back through the concourse.  I took a moment to remind myself to remember the feeling: to remember what it felt like to see NHL fans clad in Winter Classic jerseys strolling the Wrigley Field area.  I stopped at a vendor’s stand to purchase a program and a pennant to make sure I had more tangible reminders of the experience.  I had to admonish an apparent Nashville Predator fan to get in line behind me, and fifteen dollars quickly scored me the keepsakes.  We continued our slow procession out of the old ballpark – er, hockey field, I guess. 

I turned to have one last look at her – all dressed in NHL apparel like Halloween.  Though the 6-4 score sullied the experience, and my view – or lack thereof – will always besmirch my memories, it was all worth it.  As many have commented, it was likely a once-in-a-lifetime spectacle, and I experienced it. 

It’s been too long since the national stage shined on Chicago hockey, but the ‘Hawks, my fellow fans, are here. 

It’s just too bad the ‘Wings were waiting for them.

This entry was posted in Winter Classic. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Winter Classic: The Fan Perspective

  1. John says:

    Re: the anthem, I think the loudness factor of your section was based on the amount of Wing fans in your section. I was just checking out some videos of the anthem from yesterday. In some, you can’t even hear Cornelison singing because the cheering is so loud but others aren’t quite as rowdy. Oh well, if they were the Cubs, they’d probably indirectly blame the fans saying there wasn’t enough cheering during the anthem, it will be nice for them to get away for a little.

Leave a comment